She topped Shawn Johnson and Kelly Monaco for the mirror ball trophy in first all-female finale

By Mike Fleeman
Updated November 27, 2012 10:50 PM
Credit: Adam Taylor/ABC

There’s a new leading lady!

The first all-female finale of Dancing with the Stars featured all-stars Shawn Johnson, Kelly Monaco and Melissa Rycroft in a fierce battle Tuesday night for the mirror ball trophy.

After taking big risks in Monday night’s performance show, the stars and their pro partners – Derek Hough, Val Chmerkovskiy and Tony Dovolani – performed “instant dances.”

With the competitors getting their dance-style instructions less than an hour before hitting the floor, the field was whittled down to two couples.

After Monaco was the first eliminated, it came down to Johnson and Rycroft. And the winner was … Rycroft!

Amid showering confetti, the reality star and Dovolani clutched the trophy. They embraced and jumped up and down.

Rycroft was the only competitor among the final three all-stars to not have won before. Dovolani had labored 14 seasons without previously winning.