The American Idol series finale airs Thursday at 8 p.m. ET on Fox

Credit: Kevin Winter/Getty Images

And the next American Idol is…

Well, that hasn’t been announced yet. But “whoever wins will be the bookend to a legacy that started with Kelly Clarkson,” says host Ryan Seacrest, who is featured in the current issue of PEOPLE. “People will always remember the first winner and the last winner.”

But before either La’Porsha Renae or Trent Harmon becomes the fifteenth (and final) Idol, PEOPLE has compiled videos of the past 14 winners singing their coronation songs. Read on for all the thrilling moments.

2002 – Kelly Clarkson performs "A Moment Like This"

2003 – Ruben Studdard performs "Flying Without Wings"

2004 – Fantasia Barrino performs "Flying Without Wings"

2005 – Carrie Underwood performs "Inside Your Heaven"

2006 – Taylor Hicks performs "Do I Make You Proud"

2007 – Jordin Sparks performs "This Is My Now"

2008 – David Cook performs "The Time of My Life"

2009 – Kris Allen performs "No Boundaries"

2010 – Lee DeWyze performs "Beautiful Day"

2011 – Scotty McCreery performs "I Love You This Big"

2012 – Phillip Phillips performs "Home"

2013 – Candice Glover performs "I Am Beautiful"

2014 – Caleb Johnson performs "As Long as You Love Me"

2015 – Nick Fradiani performs "Beautiful Life"

If all the performances make fans feel sentimental, they’re not alone: “I have plans to raid our storage garage for some signs and mementos,” says Seacrest of his emotional final days as the show’s host. “I want things I can keep in my basement forever.”

The next champion will be crowned during the series finale Thursday at 8 p.m. ET on FOX.