Jennifer Lopez Will Be Honored With the 2019 CFDA Fashion Icon Award

Beyoncé and Rihanna have all received the honor in the past

After more than two decades in the spotlight, Jennifer Lopez has earned her place as a bonafide style icon. Now, she’s being honored by the Council of Fashion Designers of America for her worldwide impact on fashion.

The CFDA announced that Lopez, 49, is set to receive the prestigious Fashion Icon Award at the 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards in N.Y.C. later this year.

From her bold red carpet fashion choices (including her legendary Versace gown at the 2000 Grammys!) to her show-stopping onstage looks, Lopez has always been willing to push boundaries and take chances with her wardrobe. In addition to her red carpet domination, the star has also graced the cover of nearly every major fashion magazine worldwide, from Vogue to Harper’s BAZAAR, throughout her career – including the December 2018 issue of InStyle, which clearly proved that “I’ve taken care of myself, and now it shows,” as she told the magazine.

Jennifer Lopez
JEAN-BAPTISTE LACROIX/AFP/Getty; Scott Gries/ImageDirect/Getty; John Shearer/WireImage

Jennifer Lopez’s style is bold, uninhibited, and always memorable,” Steven Kolb, President and CEO of the CFDA, said in a release. “Designers, including many of our CFDA Members, love to dress her for both stage and private moments.”

RELATED PHOTOS: Shop The Hottest Denim Trends Celebs Are Loving This Spring

CFDA Chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg said, “Jennifer Lopez uses clothes as a way to express confidence and power. Both designers and fans look forward to her fashion statements.”

Rihanna and Beyonce
Evan Agostini/Invision/AP/REX/Shutterstock; Theo Wargo/Getty

Lopez will join a standout list of previous Fashion Icon Award recipients, including Beyoncé, Rihanna, Pharrell Williams and last year’s winner, Naomi Campbell.

The 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards will be held on June 3rd and hosted at the Brooklyn Museum.

Related Articles