17 Fall Trends You Can't Resist (and the Perfect Pieces to Buy)

Whether you want to make a small tweak or a total overhaul, we've got the cutest, most on-trend finds at every price point

We independently research, test, review, and recommend the best products—learn more about our process. If you buy something through our links, we may earn a commission.

FALL TRENDS style gallery
01 of 16

Faux Leather

FALL TRENDS style gallery

Opt for a luxe-looking wardrobe piece without a huge investment. Try it in a tan or brown hue for a really of-the-moment look!

Buy It! Aritzia Blazer, $228; aritzia.com, Abercrombie & Fitch Leggings, $69; abercrombie.com

02 of 16

Oversized Striped Sweater

FALL TRENDS style gallery

A comfy knit is always a seasonal must-have. The oversized stripe (and shape!) makes this a stand-out go-to.

Buy It! Cos Sweater, $125; cosstores.com

03 of 16

Baroque Pearls

FALL TRENDS style gallery

Not your classic pearls! These natural-shaped baubles look extra cool when paired with gold chains.

Buy It! Kenneth Jay Lane Necklace, $44 ; theoutnet.com, Monica Vinader Earrings, $295 ; monicavinader.com

04 of 16

Sweater Vest

FALL TRENDS style gallery

You'll be surprised by how many ways you'll wear this sleeveless sweater this season. Try it over a turtleneck – or add an oversized button-down underneath.

Buy It! Massimo Dutti Sweater Vest, $129; massimodutti.com

05 of 16

Suede

FALL TRENDS style gallery

The tactile material is perfect for pairing with all of fall's favorite pieces (faux leather included!), especially in a rich hue.

Buy It! Rebecca Minkoff Bag, $278; rebeccaminkoff.com, Ann Taylor Belt, $69.50; anntaylor.com

06 of 16

Collared Knits

FALL TRENDS style gallery

Polo-inspired knits add a little fun to a simple pullover.

Buy It! Boden Sweater, $98; bodenusa.com

07 of 16

Wide-Leg Denim

FALL TRENDS style gallery

Although skinny jeans will never be out of style, this season it's all about the wider leg. Try a high-waist cut like this pair.

Buy It! Warp + Weft Jeans, $118; warpweftworld.com

08 of 16

Ruffle Collar Blouse

FALL TRENDS style gallery

These trend-forward tops are an easy way to take update your look. Pair them with everything from jeans to dress pants or midi skirt. Either way, you won't regret adding a little flounce to your wardrobe this fall.

Buy It! H&M top, $20; hm.com, Marks & Spencer top, $60; marksandspencer.com

09 of 16

Puffy Clutch

FALL TRENDS style gallery

This chic bag trend is an easy way to add a little edge to any look and is perfect for day or night.

Buy It! Steve Madden Bag, $49; stevemadden.com

10 of 16

Utility-Inspired

FALL TRENDS style gallery

The classic look of the utilitarian trend is still in full force. Look pieces with flap-front pockets and clean lines.

Buy It! Banana Republic Dress, $149; bananarepublic.com, Gap Shirt Jacket, $148; gap.com

11 of 16

Zippered Knit

FALL TRENDS style gallery

Whether a three-quarter or half-zip, this casual and cool piece is definitely a must-have!

Buy It! J.Crew Cashmere Sweater, $298;jcrew.com

12 of 16

Pleats

FALL TRENDS style gallery

The folded fabric is a fun way to add a little playfulness to your wardrobe this fall. Try it in an A-line dress (optimum for layering) or opt for a midi skirt. Both are perfect for pairing with your favorite booties!

Buy It! Banana Republic Dress, $159; bananarepublic.com, Current Air Skirt, $120; currentair.com

13 of 16

Check Blazer

FALL TRENDS style gallery

This classic will be a go-to statement-maker this season – and is surprisingly versatile!

Buy It! Express Blazer, $158; express.com

14 of 16

Corduroy

FALL TRENDS style gallery

You'll see this lush fabric everywhere this fall, from oversized shirt jackets and trousers to dresses and skirts.

Buy It! American Eagle Shirt Jacket, $79.95; ae.com, Everlane Pants, $88; everlane.com

15 of 16

Quilting

FALL TRENDS style gallery

A thin quilted jacket (like this bone-colored one) is perfect for layering under a blazer or coat for some extra warmth. Or try the trend in a hoodie or dress for a sporty and trendy look.

Buy It! Madewell Hoodie, $72 ; madewell.com, Mango Jacket, $79.99; mango.com

16 of 16

Rib Knit Sweater Dress

FALL TRENDS style gallery

You'll throw on this this button-front midi dress over and over again. Wear it with sneakers for a cool and casual look or to-the-knee boots for a more polished dressed-up look.

Buy It! Club Monaco Dress, $229; clubmonaco.com

Related Articles