The footwear trend is making a return thanks to the help of Blake Lively

By Kaitlyn Frey and Sarah Ball
May 26, 2021 05:34 PM
Advertisement
Blake Lively - Ryan Reynolds
Credit: Elder Ordonez / SplashNews.com

As the saying goes, all trends eventually come back in style again. But we never thought jelly sandals would stand the test of time. The colorful (often sparkly!) shoe had a brief stint in popularity in the late 1990s, and it appears, thanks to the help of style trailblazer Blake Lively and major shoe brands bringing the material back in action, that the forgotten footwear trend is making a return.

Lively was spotted heading out to lunch with husband Ryan Reynolds in New York City last week in a flowing floral Reformation dress, paired with layered necklaces and a face mask with attached chain. But it was her shoes that really caught our attention. The actress, 33, sported a pair of closed-toe, buckled jelly sandals that brought us right back to the '90s.

With Lively's style influence, it's only a matter of time before jelly shoes start taking over the streets again. So to get you prepared, we found some similar options you can snag now.

Jelly sandals

Buy It! From left to right: Tory Burch, $98; toryburch.com, Katy Perry Collections, $35; katyperrycollections.com, Olivia Miller, $35; macys.com, Nine West, $49; ninewest.com, Stuart Weitzman, $225; stuartweitzman.com, Chinese Laundry, $39.95; chineselaundry.com

Jelly sandals

Buy It! From left to right: Schutz, $58; schutz-shoes.com, Matisse, $32; matisefootwear.com, Vince Camuto, $59; vincecamuto.com, Steve Madden, $49.95; stevemadden.com, Melissa, $84 (orig. $140); shopmelissa.com