You Can Now Go to Jail in Pennsylvania for Leaving Your Dog Out in the Cold
Pennsylvania's new Libre's Law increases the penalties in animal neglect cases, including those involving extreme weather conditions
The state of Pennsylvania is getting serious about severe weather.
Under Libre’s Law, a dog cannot be left leashed and alone outside for longer than 30 minutes in temperatures that exceed 90 degrees or drop below 32 degrees Fahrenheit. Pet owners found violating these restrictions could face up to $750 in fines and up to 90 days in jail, reports The Sacramento Bee.
These harsher penalties are extended to those who intentionally torture, neglect or abuse their pets, with those charged with a third-degree animal abuse felony looking at fines up to $15,000 and as many as seven years in jail.
Those who see an animal suffering from abuse are urged to call 911 to report the incident. Owners who are found guilty of abuse will be forced to forfeit their pets to local shelters.
RELATED: Don’t Ever Leave Your Dog in the Car on a Hot Day
Libre’s Law is named for a Boston terrier who was found tied outside a Lancaster County farm emaciated and ill. Libre has since made a full recovery and was present at the bill’s signing into law.
Pennsylvania cities are adding stricter animal negligence restrictions, too. According to NBC10, Philadelphia has a new ordinance that requires owners to bring their pets inside during a Code Blue (temperatures below 20 degrees Fahrenheit), a Code Red (extreme heat) and a Code Gray (extreme precipitation). Those found violating this ordinance will be fined $500 on top of whatever penalties they may receive from the state.