A 40-track greatest hits album and a deluxe version of Purple Rain are on the way

By Jessica Goodman
October 21, 2016 01:30 PM

Prince‘s vault is officially open.

Warner Bros. announced Thursday plans to release more music from the late star’s vast collection, which may contain thousands of unreleased songs.

First up is a 40-track compilation album, Prince4Ever, due out Nov. 22. The collection will include “1999,” “When Doves Cry,” “U Got the Look,” “Diamonds and Pearls,” “Nothing Compares 2 U,” and one previously unreleased track, “Moonbeam Levels.” The track has been bootlegged frequently over the years – and was even once covered by Elvis Costello – but was never released on a studio album after it was recorded in July 1982.

Then, in 2017, a deluxe, remastered edition of Purple Rain, featuring a second disc of previously unreleased material, will debut. A release notes that plans for the set “were agreed with Prince before he passed away.”

These will be the first releases from Prince’s vault since his death in April, after which reporters and lawyers began to speculate about what may happen to his unreleased recordings.

“I’ve never said this before, but I didn’t always give the record companies the best song,” Prince told Rolling Stone in a 2014 interview published after his death.