Good news, Hamilton fans: the long-anticipated Hamilton Mixtape has a release date and a tracklist!

By Dave Quinn
November 03, 2016 12:20 PM
Neilson Barnard/Getty Images

Good news, Hamilton fans! The long-anticipated Hamilton Mixtape has a release date and a tracklist!

Lin-Manuel Miranda, the writer and star of the Tony-winning musical, tweeted to fans Thursday morning that the album would be available for pre-order on Friday, ahead of its Dec. 2 release date.

The 36-year-old Pulitzer Prize winner pulled together a selection of music’s biggest names for the album. Some cover selections of the musical’s biggest songs, while others create original tracks.

The artists include rappers and musicians like Busta Rhymes, The Roots, Regina Spektor, Ben Folds, Sia, Wiz Khalifa, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Queen Latifah, Usher, and cover queen Kelly Clarkson.

Even Jimmy Fallon makes an appearance, singing King George’s ’60s-inspired comic anthem “You’ll Be Back”

Miranda and The Roots bandleader Questlove produced the album. Here’s the official tracklist:

1. No John Trumbull (Intro) – The Roots
2. My Shot (feat. Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz & Nate Ruess) [Rise Up Remix] – The Roots
3. Wrote My Way Out – Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda & Aloe Blacc
4. Wait For It – Usher
5. An Open Letter (feat. Shockwave) [Interlude] – Watsky
6. Satisfied (feat. Miguel & Queen Latifah) – Sia
7. Dear Theodosia (feat. Ben Folds) – Regina Spektor
8. Valley Forge (Demo) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
9. It’s Quiet Uptown – Kelly Clarkson
10. That Would Be Enough – Alicia Keys
11. Immigrants (We Get The Job Done) – K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, Residente
12. You’ll Be Back – Jimmy Fallon & The Roots
13. Helpless (feat. Ja Rule) – Ashanti
14. Take A Break (Interlude) – !llmind
15. Say Yes To This – Jill Scott
16. Congratulations – Dessa
17. Burn – Andra Day
18. Stay Alive (Interlude) – J.PERIOD & Stro Elliot
19. Slavery Battle (Demo) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
20. Washingtons By Your Side – Wiz Khalifa
21. History Has Its Eyes On You – John Legend
22. Who Tells Your Story (feat. Common & Ingrid Michaelson) – The Roots
23. Dear Theodosia (Reprise) – Chance The Rapper & Francis and The Lights

Theo Wargo/Getty Images for Tony Awards Productions
Theo Wargo/Getty Images for Tony Awards Productions

Last month, Miranda spilled details to PEOPLE about the album while backstage at the People en Español festival.

“Right now we’re 50/50 original songs inspired by the show and covers,” he said.  “And every time someone turns in something new it’s sort of an amazing gift and really surprising.”

He also gushed about Sia, Miguel and Queen Latifah’s collaboration on “Satisfied,” which he called one of the mixtape’s most surprising songs.

RELATED VIDEO: Lin-Manuel Miranda on The Hamilton Mixtapes and working with Emily Blunt

“I can tell you that the people covering ‘Satisfied’ — and it’s more than one person — that’s when we realized how special this was going to be,” he said. “They turned it in nine months ago and, like, our hair blew backwards. I have footage of playing it for (then-Hamilton star) Jonathan Groff for the first time backstage and him just crying in our dressing room.”

Miranda said he hopes that the mixtape will have widespread appeal

“I’m really excited to sort of see how well these songs play in the pop, hip-hop music sphere — they actually work really well as radio tunes,” he said. “What’s exciting is that a lot of my favorite artists that are on the radio — Chance [The Rapper], Sia, Alicia Keys, John Legend — they brought their A-game to this work. Whether that translates into radio play, I don’t know. It’s just really exciting to see world-class artists play with your material.”