J Balvin, Bad Bunny, and Ozuna led the nominations for the 2020 Latin Grammys — see who won big and who went home empty-handed

By Rachel Yang
Updated November 20, 2020 11:20 AM
Gladys Vega/Getty Images; Paras Griffin/Getty Images; Steven Ferdman/Getty Images
| Credit: Gladys Vega/Getty Images; Paras Griffin/Getty Images; Steven Ferdman/Getty Images

Huge stars like Ricky Martin and Residente won top honors at the 2020 Latin Grammys on Thursday, while buzzy reggaeton and trap artists like J Balvin, Bad Bunny, and Karol G were largely shut out in major categories.

Record of the Year went to Alejandro Sanz's "Contigo," Album of the Year to Natalia Lafourcade's Un Canto Por México, Vol. 1, and Song of the Year went to Residente, the most awarded artist in the Latin Grammy's history. Martin's Pausa won best pop vocal album.

While the nominations expanded representation for Urban Latino artists after an outcry in 2019, some fans might feel disappointed with tonight's showing. Balvin, who led with 13 nominations, only picked up best urban music album for Colores.

Similarly, Bad Bunny, who followed behind his collaborator with nine nods, went home with best reggaeton performance for "Yo Perreo Sola." His critically acclaimed album YHLQMDLG, previously thought of as a frontrunner for album of the year, was snubbed. Karol G, whose popular collaboration "Tusa" with Nicki Minaj was expected to nab awards, did not pick up any trophies.

Before the ceremony even began, Spanish artist Rosalía (whose inclusion at the Latin Grammys has stirred some controversy) won three of the four awards she was nominated for, including best urban song for "Yo x Ti, Tu x Mi" with Ozuna.

During the show, a slew of artists energized the audience with performances (many of them pretaped). Balvin, Martin, Bad Bunny, and Karol G all took the stage, as did Marc Anthony, Pitbull, and more. Lin-Manuel Miranda kicked off the show with a moving message about Latin music, saying it “unites all of us and makes us human.”

Here are the full list of winners below:

Record of the Year
"China" — Anuel AA, Daddy Yankee, Karol G featuring Ozuna & J Balvin
"Cuando Estés Aquí" — Pablo Alborán
"Vete" — Bad Bunny
"Solari Yacumenza" — Bajofondo featuring Cuareim 1080
"Rojo" — J Balvin
"Tutu" — Camilo featuring Pedro Capó
"Lo Que En Ti Veo" — Kany García & Nahuel Pennisi
"Tusa" — Karol G & Nicki Minaj
"René" — Residente
WINNER: "Contigo" — Alejandro Sanz

Album of the Year
YHLQMDLG — Bad Bunny
Oasis — J Balvin & Bad Bunny
Colores — J Balvin
Por Primera Vez — Camilo
Mesa para Dos — Kany García
Aire (Versión Día) — Jesse & Joy
WINNER: Un Canto Por México, Vol. 1 — Natalia Lafourcade
Pausa — Ricky Martin
La Conquista del Espacio — Fito Páez
Cumbiana — Carlos Vives

Song of the Year
"ADMV" — Vicente Barco, Edgar Barrera, Maluma & Stiven Rojas, songwriters (Maluma)
"Bonita" — Juanes, Mauricio Rengifo, Andrés Torres & Sebastián Yatra, songwriters (Juanes & Sebastián Yatra)
"Codo Con Codo" — Jorge Drexler, songwriter (Jorge Drexler)
"El Mismo Aire" — Edgar Barrera, Camilo, Jon Leone, Richi López & Juan Morelli, songwriters (Camilo)
"For Sale" — Alejandro Sanz & Carlos Vives, songwriters (Alejandro Sanz & Carlos Vives)
"#ELMUNDOFUERA (Improvisación)" — Alejandro Sanz, songwriter (Alejandro Sanz)
"Lo Que En Ti Veo" — Kany García, songwriter (Kany García & Nahuel Pennisi)
WINNER: "René" — Residente, songwriter (Residente)
"Tiburones" — Oscar Hernández & Pablo Preciado, songwriters (Ricky Martin)
"Tusa" — Kevyn Mauricio Cruz Moreno, Karol G, Nicki Minaj & Daniel Oviedo Echavarría, songwriters (Karol G & Nicki Minaj)
"Tutu" — Camilo, Jon Leone & Richi López, songwriters (Camilo featuring Pedro Capó)

Best New Artist
Anuel AA
Rauw Alejandro
WINNER: Mike Bahía
Conociendo Rusia
Soy Emilia
Nicki Nicole
Nathy Peluso

Best Pop Vocal Album
Spoiler — Aitana
Prisma — Beret
Por Primera Vez — Camilo
Más Futuro Que Pasado — Juanes
WINNER: Pausa — Ricky Martin

Best Reggaeton Performance (new category)
WINNER: Yo Perreo Sola — Bad Bunny
Morado — J Balvin
Loco Contigo — Dj Snake & J Balvin featuring Tyga
Porfa — Feid & Justin Quiles
Chicharrón — Guaynaa featuring Cauty
Te Soñé de Nuevo — Ozuna
Si Te Vas — Sech & Ozuna

Best Contemporary/Tropical Fusion Album
Energía Para Regalar — El Caribefunk
Mi Derriengue — Riccie Oriach
Mariposas — Omara Portuondo
Alter Ego — Prince Royce
WINNER: Cumbiana — Carlos Vives

Best Urban Album
Emmanuel — Anuel AA
YHLQMDLG — Bad Bunny
Oasis — J Balvin and Bad Bunny
WINNER: Colores — J Balvin
FERXXO (VOL 1: M.O.R.)- Feid
Nibiru -— Ozuna
1 of 1 — Sech
Easy Money Baby — Myke Towers

Best Ranchero/Mariachi Album
Antología de la Música Ranchera — Aida Cuevas
Hecho en México — Alejandro Fernández
WINNER: A Los 4 Vientos Vol. 1 "Ranchero" — Eugenia León
Bailando Sones y Huapangos con El Mariachi Sol de México de José Hernández — Mariachi Sol de México de José Hernández
AYAYAY! — Christian Nodal

Best Portuguese Language Song
"A Tal Canção Pra Lua (Microfonado)" — Vitor Kley, songwriter (Vitor Kley & Samuel Rosa)
WINNER: "Abricó-De-Macaco" — Francisco Bosco & João Bosco, songwriters (João Bosco)
"Amarelo (Sample: Sujeito de Sorte - Belchior)" — Dj Duh, Emicida & Felipe Vassão, songwriters (Emicida featuring Majur & Pabllo Vittar)
"Libertação" — Russo Passapusso, songwriter (Elza Soares & BaianaSystem featuring Virgínia Rodrigues)
"Pardo" — Caetano Veloso, songwriter (Céu)

Related content:

This story originally appeared on ew.com