The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invites stars to join its ranks
Each product we feature has been independently selected and reviewed by our editorial team. If you make a purchase using the links included, we may earn commission.
Credit: Jewel Samad/AFP/Getty

Hugh Jackman may have hosted this year’s Oscars, but he really wasn’t a member of the club.

On Tuesday, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences took steps to rectify that – inviting the Wolverine star to join the honorary body, along with such other prospective new members as Anne Hathaway, Michael Cera, James Franco, Michelle Williams and Oscar-winning Slumdog Millionaire director Danny Boyle.

“These filmmakers have, over the course of their careers, captured the imagination of audiences around the world,” said Academy president Sid Ganis, according to the Hollywood Reporter. “It’s this kind of talent and creativity that make up the Academy, and I welcome each of them to our ranks.”

All told, the Academy dispatched 134 invitations to members of the film community to be a part of the club. Among the privileges of Academy membership is voting rights in the Oscar race.

Among the current crop of new invitees are Tyler Perry, Seth Rogan, Paul Rudd, Viola Davis, Taraji P. Henson, Melissa Leo, Emily Blunt, James McAvoy, Casey Affleck, Amy Ryan, Jeffrey Wright and musician Peter Gabriel.

ORDER NOW: Thriller: Remembering Michael Jackson, a special collector’s edition
from Huffington Post
PHOTOS: Wordy Celebrity Tattoos
WATCH: Billy Mays Greatest Moments