The show's presenters announced they will no longer provide The Great British Bake Off with its signature jokes

By Julia Emmanuele
Updated December 18, 2019 10:01 PM
F:PHOTOMediaFactory ActionsRequests DropBox45897#PBSGBB06_Final006.jpg
Credit: Mark Bourdillon

They provide the show with its signature “doughverload” of puns, comfort contestants who are crying over cake, and find innuendo in everything from bread rolls to cream horns. But when The Great British Bake Off returns for its eighth series next year, the show’s hosts Sue Perkins and Mel Giedroyc will no longer be a part of the show.

The comedians, who have presented the cult hit since it began in 2010, revealed on Tuesday that they are leaving the show, following the controversial decision to move the program from its home on the BBC to the U.K.’s Channel 4. “We’ve had the most amazing time on Bake Off, and have loved seeing it rise and rise like a pair of yeasted Latvian baps,” the pair said in a statement that, in true Mel and Sue style, fit in as many puns as possible. “We’re not going with the dough. We wish all the future bakers every success.”

“We made no secret of our desire for the show to remain where it was,” the pair said of their decision to leave. On Monday, it was announced that the BBC would give up the program, after a dispute about money with Bake Off‘s production company, Love Productions.

Neither the hosts nor the show’s judges, Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry, were reportedly consulted during the negotiations that resulted in Channel 4 agreeing to a £25 million-a-year deal to broadcast the show. “The BBC nurtured the show from its infancy and helped give it its distinctive warmth and charm, growing it from an audience of 2 million to nearly 15 [million] at its peak,” Perkins and Giedroyc said in their statement.

WATCH THIS: Food Hack: How to Save Your Burnt Cookies

Former contestants on the show quickly took to Twitter to express their dismay over the news, which has left fans of the show as sad as Iain’s melted Baked Alaska. Finalists Richard Burr, Martha Collison (who competed in 2014), Mat Riley (who competed in 2015) and 2012’s winner John Whaite all took to Twitter to mourn the end of an era:

The news of Perkins and Giedroyc’s departure has also caused many to speculate that the show’s judges, Hollywood and Berry, won’t be far behind on their way out of the tent. In the meantime, we can all take comfort in the fact that the current season of the show is still airing, which means there’s still plenty of puns and naughty jokes about “spotted dicks” and “soggy bottoms” to hold us over for a little while longer.