Carrie Underwood Shares the Stories Behind Some of Her Biggest Hits

The singer takes fans inside some of her favorite tunes

Photo: Jon Kopaloff/FilmMagic

It’s been a pretty great decade for Carrie Underwood.

In the 10 years since she first appeared on American Idol, the singer has racked up 18 No. 1 hits and won a slew of awards, including a Grammy for Best New Artist and two ACMs for Entertainer of the Year. Not to mention, she’s become a wife, a soon-to-be mom and a fashion designer.

Not bad for a girl from Checotah, Oklahoma, who, before Idol, planned on becoming a journalist and singing for fun at karaoke nights.

Now, the singer, 31, is marking her success with an inside look at her greatest hits album. Did you know that “Before He Cheats” was her first “sass” song or that “Mama’s Song” makes her think of husband Mike Fisher? You will now!

Check out exclusive video of Underwood giving the scoop behind ten of her biggest hits, all featured on her new album Greatest Hits: Decade # 1:

1. 2005’s "Jesus, Take the Wheel"

2. 2006’s "Before He Cheats"

3. 2007’s "Wasted"

4. 2008’s "All American Girl"

5. 2008’s "Last Name"

6. 2009’s "I Told You So"

7. 2010’s "Mama’s Song"

8. 2011’s "Remind Me"

9. 2012’s "Two Black Cadillacs"

10. 2014’s "Something in the Water"

Related Articles