ACMs 2021: Maren Morris, Chris Stapleton and Miranda Lambert Lead History-Making Nominations

The 56th ACM Awards are set to air live from the Grand Ole Opry, The Ryman and Bluebird Cafe on Sunday, April 18 at 8 p.m. on CBS

Maren Morris, Chris STapleton and Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris; Chris Stapleton; Miranda Lambert. Photo: Getty images (3)

Now this is a historic Academy of Country Music Awards nominations list.

On Friday, Kelsea Ballerini and Brothers Osborne helped announce some of the nominees for this year's ACM Awards on CBS This Morning.

Leading the list are Maren Morris and Chris Stapleton with six nominations each. Trailing closely behind is Miranda Lambert with five nominations and Ashley McBryde and Thomas Rhett with four nods each.

Making history this year, four Black artists are nominated for awards: Jimmie Allen, Kane Brown, Mickey Guyton and John Legend, who's a first-time nominee. Also for the first time, every nominated song for single of the year features a woman.

Jimmie Allen; Mickey Guyton; Kane Brown
Jimmie Allen; Mickey Guyton; Kane Brown. John Shearer/Getty;Jason Kempin/Getty; Kevin Mazur/Getty

Want to get the biggest stories from PEOPLE every weekday? Subscribe to our new podcast, PEOPLE Every Day, to get the essential celebrity, entertainment and human interest news stories Monday through Friday.

Up for the most-coveted entertainer of the year award are standouts Stapleton, Thomas Rhett, Luke Bryan, Eric Church and Luke Combs. (Carrie Underwood and Thomas Rhett shared the 2020 title.)

Notably absent from the nominations list is Morgan Wallen, whose eligibility was halted earlier this month after using a racial slur.

Entertainer of the Year

  • Luke Bryan
  • Eric Church
  • Luke Combs
  • Thomas Rhett
  • Chris Stapleton

Female Artist of the Year

Male Artist of the Year

Duo of the Year

Group of the Year

  • Lady A
  • Little Big Town
  • Old Dominion
  • The Cadillac Three
  • The Highwomen

New Female Artist of the Year

  • Ingrid Andress
  • Tenille Arts
  • Gabby Barrett
  • Mickey Guyton
  • Caylee Hammack

New Male Artist of the Year

  • Jimmie Allen
  • Travis Denning
  • Cody Johnson
  • Parker McCollum

Album of the Year

  • Never Will – Ashley McBryde
  • Skeletons – Brothers Osborne
  • Starting Over – Chris Stapleton

Single of the Year

  • "I Hope" – Gabby Barrett
  • "I Hope You're Happy Now" – Carly Pearce & Lee Brice
  • "More Hearts Than Mine" – Ingrid Andress

Song of the Year

  • "One Night Standards" – Ashley McBryde
  • "Some People Do" – Old Dominion
  • "Starting Over" – Chris Stapleton

Video of the Year

Songwriter of the Year

  • Ashley Gorley
  • Michael Hardy
  • Hillary Lindsey
  • Shane McAnally
  • Josh Osborne

Music Event of the Year

  • "Be a Light" – Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban
  • "Does To Me" – Luke Combs featuring Eric Church
  • "I Hope You're Happy Now" – Carly Pearce & Lee Brice
  • "One Beer" – HARDY featuring Lauren Alaina & Devin Dawson
  • "One Too Many" – Keith Urban, P!nk

The show is set to air live from the Grand Ole Opry, the Ryman Auditorium and The Bluebird Cafe on Sunday, April 18 at 8 p.m. ET on CBS.

Related Articles