The winner will be announced during the ACM Awards on April 19

By Michele Corriston
Updated February 18, 2015 02:45 PM
Credit: Larry Busacca/Getty; Sara Kauss/Getty(2)

Whom did country fans choose as their favorite new artist?

Sam Hunt, Thomas Rhett and Cole Swindell made the short list – but you’ll have to wait to find out which musician is No. 1 in their hearts.

The musicians are the final three nominees for the ACM new artist of the year award, presented by Kohl’s, the academy announced Wednesday. Fans can vote in the final round at starting April 8 at 3 p.m. ET, and the winner will be revealed live during the 50th Academy of Country Music Awards in April.

Hunt, Rhett and Swindell have already beat out Brett Eldredge, Tyler Farr, Kip Moore, Dan + Shay and Chase Rice.

The ACM Awards, hosted by country cuties Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan, air April 19 at 8 p.m. ET on CBS.