The group is being honored for their "undeniable impact on the world of popular culture"

By Melody Chiu
Updated March 25, 2016 09:00 AM
Credit: Franziska Krug/Getty

U2 is nominated for Best Tour this year at the iHeartRadio Music Awards, but on April 3, the group will also be heading home with one of the night’s biggest prizes – the iHeartRadio Innovator Award.

Celebrating 40 years together this year, Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen are being honored for their “undeniable impact on the world of popular culture [and] and their unparalleled contributions to the music industry and social causes,” according to a press release.

The rock band has racked up 22 Grammy awards together and has consistently been committed to social activism throughout their time together.

“It is extremely rare to have a band that has spent four decades not only changing music, but helping change the world with their tireless dedication to important social causes focusing on AIDS, poverty, cancer, the environment, Hurricane Katrina and much more,” says Tom Poleman, president of national programming group for iHeartMedia.

Airing live on TBS, TNT and TruTV at 8 p.m. ET, the iHeartRadio Music Awards will feature performances by Justin Bieber, Meghan Trainor, Zayn Malik, Chris Brown, DNCE, Fetty Wap and Demi Lovato.