The company recalled boxes made at a plant in Lodi, California

By Naja Rayne
Updated October 05, 2015 10:15 PM
Credit: Getty

Over 1 million boxes of both Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios, that were produced at a factory in Lodi, California have been recalled, the Associated Press reports.

The recall comes as a result of about 1.8 million boxes of cereal being labeled gluten-free when they contained wheat.

According to AP, boxes made in July are the ones affected and have the plant code “LD” on them. Boxes of Cheerios also feature “better if used by” dates ranging from July 14 to July 17, 2016 while boxes of Honey Nut Cheerios have “better if used by” dates ranging from July 12 to July 25, 2016.

Earlier this year, General Mills introduced its gluten-free cheerio option after the company found a way to take out small amounts of wheat, rye and barley. Five gluten-free flavors began shipping out in July, AP reports.

While the company is taking millions of boxes out of stores, warehouses and homes, a JPMorgan Chase analyst, Ken Goldman, told AP that the recall only affects about 1 percent of the company.

While the monetary risk may be low, Goldman said the company is most worried about trust among its consumers.

“Our biggest concern is over reputational risk because the new gluten-free Cheerios just launched,” he said.

According to AP, customers affected by the recall can contact the company for a new box or a full refund. Cereals that were not made in the Lodi plant will not be recalled.