Eddie Murphy to Be Awarded Top Humor Prize at the Kennedy Center

The former SNL cast member will receive the 18th annual Mark Twain Prize

Photo: Alberto E. Rodriguez/WireImage

He’s come a long way from Saturday Night Live.

Eddie Murphy will receive the prestigious Mark Twain Prize in American humor, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts announced on Thursday.

Murphy, 54, will receive the prize at the 18th annual gala performance in October, which will be broadcast.

The Kennedy Center’s announcement called Murphy “the most commercially successful African-American actor in the history of the motion picture business, and is one of the industry’s top-five box-office performers overall.”

Previous recipients of the prize include Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Lily Tomlin, Steve Martin, Ellen DeGeneres, Tina Fey, Carol Burnett and Jay Leno.

RELATED: Eddie Murphy to Return to Saturday Night Live in February

Related Articles