The film festival's 2015 winners were announced on Sunday

By Lindsay Kimble
Updated May 24, 2015 03:45 PM
Credit: Venturelli/WireImage; Yves Herman/Reuters/Landov

And the winner is…

The 68th annual Cannes Film Festival came to a close on Sunday, ending 11 days of glitz and glamour at the celebration of cinema with the highly anticipated awards ceremony.

The festival’s other big winners were announced on Sunday, included a tie for Best Actress between Carol‘s Rooney Mara and French actress Emmanuelle Bercot.

“I am incredibly honored and thankful to have been recognized by the Jury at the Cannes Film Festival for Carol. I knew that Phyllis Nagy’s adaptation of this story was something special, but what Todd did with it is beyond anything I could have imagined,” Mara said in a statement. She continued, “Working with Cate [Blanchett] really was a dream come true. And everyone involved with making the film, who worked so hard to make sure the film could see the light of day. I just feel lucky to have been a part of it.”

Mara won praise for her part in the 1950s lesbian romantic drama, while Bercot was awarded the prize for her role in Mon roi, which follows a woman remembering a previous destructive relationship.

French director Jacques Audiard walked away with 2015’s coveted Palme d’Or for his film Dheepan, a drama about a makeshift family of Sri Lankan refugees in Paris.

The jury, which was helmed by American sibling directors Joel and Ethan Coen, awarded three French films top honors. The festival’s Palme d’Or is the equivalent of first place, while the Grand Prize is considered second. The Jury Prize is awarded to an actor or creative that didn’t place, and is comparable to an honorable mention.

Related Video: A Taste of Cannes! Nikki Beach Executive Chef Reveals His Secrets

See the full winner’s list, below.

Palme d Or: Jacques Audiard, Dheepan

Grand Prize: Lészlé Nemes, Son of Saul

Best Director: Hou Hsiao-Hsein, The Assassin

Best Actor: Vincent Lindon, The Measure of a Man

Best Actress: TIE: Rooney Mara, Carol and Emmanuelle Bercot, Mon Roi

Best Screenplay: Michel Franco, Chronic

Jury Prize: Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster