25 is the singer's first LP in nearly five years

By Jeff Nelson
Updated December 01, 2020 09:59 PM
Credit: Getty

The wait is (almost) over!

New tunes from Adele are finally on the way: The singer’s forthcoming album, 25, will drop Nov. 20, while its first single and music video, “Hello,” is due for release Friday.

The singer’s label announced the highly anticipated record Thursday, releasing the album art: a sepia-toned close-up portrait, similar to the art for her previous albums 19 and 21.

And the 11-song set’s track list was announced as well, as follows:

1. “Hello”
2. “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)”
3. “I Miss You”
4. “When We Were Young”
5. “Remedy”
6. “Water Under The Bridge”
7. “River Lea”
8. “Love In The Dark”
9. “Million Years Ago”
10. “All I Ask”
11. “Sweetest Devotion”

Plus, Target’s exclusive deluxe edition (available for preorder Friday) will include three bonus tracks: “Can’t Let Go,” “Lay Me Down” and “Why Do You Love Me.”

The arrival of 25 marks the first new music the soulful Brit has released since her 2012 Bond soundtrack contribution, “Skyfall.” And the album’s her first full-length recording in nearly five years, as her sophomore smash 21 came out in early 2011.

Adele, 27, has been hinting at the new music for over a year. In July 2014, on the day before her 26th birthday, she insinuated the album’s title, Tweeting: “Bye bye 25 … See you again later in the year.”

On Wednesday, she posted an open letter online explaining the inspiration behind the new album.

“Turning 25 was a turning point for me, slap bang in the middle of my twenties,” she wrote. “Teetering on the edge of being an old adolescent and a fully-fledged adult, I made the decision to go into becoming who I’m going to be forever without a removal van full of my old junk. I miss everything about my past, the good and the bad, but only because it won’t come back.”

The star also apologized for the delay, explaining: “I’m sorry it took so long, but you know, life happened.”

Sure enough, the 10-time Grammy winner has kept busy the past few years: She welcomed a son, Angelo, in 2012 with partner Simon Konecki.