The Walk the Line and Brokeback Mountain stars score important pre-Oscar nods

By People Staff
Updated January 05, 2006 10:00 AM

Reese Witherspoon, Joaquin Phoenix and Heath Ledger took another step in Oscar’s direction Thursday, as they each scored acting nominations from their peers in the Screen Actors Guild.

The stars and their movies, Walk the Line and Brokeback Mountain, earned multiple nods for the Jan. 29 SAG Awards, as did Capote, Crash, North Country, Good Night, and Good Luck and Cinderella Man.

On the TV side, Felicity Huffman was the sole single nominee from Desperate Housewives – though the show received a nod for its ensemble cast. Huffman also received a best movie female actor nomination, for Transamerica. She is up against Judi Dench, for Mrs. Henderson Presents; Charlize Theron, North Country; Witherspoon, Walk the Line; and Ziyi Zhang, Memoirs of a Geisha.

In the best actor movie category, the nominees are Russell Crowe, for Cinderella Man; Philip Seymour Hoffman, Capote; Ledger, Brokeback Mountain; Phoenix, Walk the Line; and David Strathairn, Good Night, and Good Luck.

Ensemble movie acting nominations went to Brokeback Mountain, Capote, Crash, Good Night, and Good Luck and Hustle and Flow.

Crash‘s Don Cheadle and Matt Dillon received supporting male actor nominations, as did George Clooney, in Syriana; Paul Giamatti, Cinderella Man; and Jake Gyllenhaal, Brokeback Mountain.

In the supporting female actor race, it was Amy Adams for Junebug; Catherine Keener, Capote; Frances McDormand, North Country; Rachel Weisz, The Constant Gardener; and Michelle Williams, Brokeback Mountain.

On television, the leading male actors in a drama series nominees are Alan Alda, for The West Wing; Patrick Dempsey, Grey’s Anatomy; Hugh Laurie, House; Ian MacShane, Deadwood; and Kiefer Sutherland, 24.

Leading female actors in a dramatic series: Patricia Arquette, for Medium; Geena Davis, Commander in Chief; Mariska Hargitay, Law & Order: Special Victims Unit; Sandra Oh, Grey’s Anatomy; and Kyra Sedgwick, The Closer.

Nominees for ensemble cast in a dramatic series are the actors on The Closer, Grey’s Anatomy, Lost, Six Feet Under and The West Wing.

Besides Felicity Huffman, female comedy actor nominees are Candice Bergen, for Boston Legal; Patricia Heaton, Everybody Loves Raymond; Megan Mullally, Will & Grace; and Mary-Louise Parker, Weeds.

Male comedy actor nominees are Larry David, for Curb Your Enthusiasm; Sean Hayes, Will & Grace; Jason Lee, My Name Is Earl, and William Shatner and James Spader, both for Boston Legal – which is also up for best ensemble comedy cast, along with Arrested Development, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Desperate Housewives and Everybody Loves Raymond. (There’s an extra contender because of a tie in the initial voting.)

Former child star Shirley Temple Black, now 77, will be presented the guild’s lifetime achievement award.

The 12th Annual SAG Awards will air on TNT and TBS from L.A.’s Shrine Auditorium on Jan. 29 at 8 p.m. PEOPLE magazine is one of the sponsors of the post-show gala.