The three screen icons will be honored on Nov. 14 at the Academy's annual Governors Awards

By Alexis L. Loinaz
August 27, 2015 01:10 PM
Dave Kotinsky/Getty; Cindy Ord/Getty; Stefanie Keenan/Wireimage

Awards season is just around the corner, and now the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has fired the first salvo in a long list of kudos by revealing the recipients of this year’s honorary Oscars.

Spike Lee and Gena Rowlands are set to receive lifetime achievement awards, while Debbie Reynolds will be honored with the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for her advocacy work, the Academy announced Wednesday.

The awards will be handed out on Nov. 14 at the annual Governors Awards, which will be held at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.

Last year’s awardees included Angelina Jolie Pitt, who received the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, as well as Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin and costume designer Piero Tosi, who were honored for their respective bodies of work.

Lee, 58, has scored two Oscar nominations: Best Original Screenplay for 1989’s Do the Right Thing and Best Documentary Feature for 1997’s 4 Little Girls.

Rowlands, 85, widow and muse to the late, great John Cassavetes, has been nominated twice for Best Actress – for A Woman Under the Influence (1975) and Gloria (1981).

Reynolds, 83, has scored one Oscar nod – a Best Actress nomination for her turn in 1964’s The Unsinkable Molly Brown – and is being recognized for her charitable work to raise awareness of mental health issues.