Robin Thicke, Lorde and Bruno Mars are among the nominees for record of the year

By K.c. Blumm
Updated December 06, 2013 11:40 PM
Credit: Bauer-Griffin/FilmMagic; Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP; WireImage (2)

The song of the summer – Robin Thicke‘s “Blurred Lines” – was a no-brainer for a record of the year nod when the 2014 Grammy nominations were announced Friday night during a live concert at the Nokia Theater in L.A.

But Miley Cyrus, whose headline-making songs “We Can’t Stop” and “Wrecking Ball” were eligible, was shut out of the major categories.

Jay-Z leads the pack with nine nominations, Justin Timberlake, Kendrick Lamar and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis scored seven apiece while newcomer Lorde received four.

LL Cool J hosted the annual event, which included performances by Katy Perry, Taylor Swift, and Keith Urban and Miguel, who dueted on the classic “Ain’t No Sunshine.”

Here are the major nominations announced Friday night. For the complete list of nominees, go to

Song of the Year
“Just Give Me a Reason” – Pink featuring Nate Ruess (Songwriters: Pink, Jeff Bhasker, Nate Ruess)
“Locked Out of Heaven” – Bruno Mars (Songwriters: Bruno Mars, Philip Lawrence, Ari Levine)
“Roar” – Katy Perry (Songwriters: Katy Perry, Lukasz Gottwald, Max Martin, Bonnie McKee, Henry Walter)
“Royals” – Lorde (Songwriters: Ella Yelich O’Connor and Joel Little)
“Same Love” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis featuring Mary Lambert (Songwriters: Ben Haggerty, Ryan Lewis and Mary Lambert)

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance
“Get Lucky” – Daft Punk featuring Pharrell
“Just Give Me a Reason” – Pink featuring Nate Ruess
“Stay” – Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko
“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke featuring T.I. and Pharrell
“Suit & Tie” – Justin Timberlake and Jay-Z

Album of the Year
The Blessed Unrest – Sara Barielles
Random Access Memories – Daft Punk
Good Kid, M.A.A.D City – Kendrick Lamar
The Heist – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
RedTaylor Swift

Best Country Album
Night TrainJason Aldean
Two Lanes of Freedom – Tim McGraw
Same Trailer Different Park – Kacey Musgraves
Based on a True StoryBlake Shelton
Red – Taylor Swift

Best New Artist
James Blake
Kendrick Lamar
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Kacey Musgraves
Ed Sheeran

Record of the Year
“Get Lucky” – Daft Punk ft. Pharrell Williams
“Radioactive” – Imagine Dragons
“Royals” – Lorde
“Locked Out of Heaven” – Bruno Mars
“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke featuring T.I. and Pharrell

The 56th Annual Grammy Awards will air live on CBS at 8 p.m. ET on Jan. 26.