November 26, 2014 12:00 PM

Holiday Gift Guide

Selected by Ann Patchett

The author of State of Wonder co-owns Parnassus Books in Nashville

The Vacationers

by Emma Straub

“It’s funny and fast yet still makes you feel smart.” $26.95

Jerry Lee Lewis

by Rick Bragg

“He had so much talent, so many bad habits.” $27.99

Deep Down Dark

by Héctor Tobar

“My favorite book of the year. Perfect for fans of Unbroken.” $26

Underwater Puppies

by Seth Casteel

“What’s better than photos of dogs in a pool? Puppies in a pool!” $21

Selected by Jeff Kinney

The creator of the Wimpy Kid series is building a bookstore in Plainville, Mass.

Yes Please

by Amy Poehler

“I loved Tina Fey’s Bossypants. Now it’s Amy’s turn!” $28.99

Orphan Train

by Christina Baker Kline

“The powerful story of two women.” $24.99

Station Eleven

by Emily St. John Mandel

“A haunting tale with poetic prose.” $24.95

Animalium

by Jenny Broom

“It’s a museum masquerading as a book. Truly original.” $35

COFFEE TABLE BOOKS

Inside Tracks

by Rick Smolan

A photographic diary of writer Robyn Davidson’s journey across Australia. $45

Celebrity Pets

by Edward Quinn

Features retro-glam portraits of stars with their furry friends. $75

Portraits

by Martin Schoeller

The photographer takes an intimate look at celebs like George Clooney. $125

American Cool

by Joel Dinerstein

Stunning photographs that explore the evolution of the word “cool.” $49.95

You May Like

EDIT POST