People

Subscribe

Stay Connected

Subscribe

Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content

TV

Bobby Moynihan Exits Saturday Night Live

Posted on

SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE -- "Donald Trump" Episode 1687 -- Pictured: (l-r) Bobby Moynihan as Drunk Uncle, Colin Jost, and Michael Che during Weekend Update on November 7, 2015 -- (Photo by: Dana Edelson/NBC/NBCU Photo Bank via Getty Images)

In sobering news for SNL fans, Drunk Uncle is saying goodbye.

Bobby Moynihan will exit Saturday Night Live after this weekend’s episode, Entertainment Weekly has confirmed.

Currently the second-longest tenured SNL cast member after Kenan Thompson with nine seasons under his belt, Moynihan has a pressing though not surprising reason to leave: CBS has officially picked up his sitcom pilot Me, Myself and I. The single-camera comedy tracks one man’s life during three periods — as a 14-year-old in 1991 (Jack Dylan Grazer), a 40-year-old in current day (Moynihan) and a 65-year-old in 2042 (John Larroquette). CBS released a trailer for the show on Wednesday during its Upfront presentation.

FROM PEN: EW Staffers Pick Their Least Favorite Pop Culture Moments of 2016

 

According to Deadline, which first reported the news, Moynihan signed a two-year extension after his original seven-year deal expired. He made a name for himself on the show with such characters as Drunk Uncle, Riblet, Ass Dan (R.I.P.) and secondhand news reporter Anthony Crispino, as well as celebrity impersonations of Guy Fieri, Chris Christie and Snooki, among many others.

Moynihan’s departure comes after those last year of six-season veterans Taran Killam and Jay Pharoah.

The season 42 finale airs Saturday night, live across all time zones, at 11:30 p.m. ET/10:30 p.m. CT/9:30 p.m. MT/8:30 p.m. PT. Dwayne Johnson will host with Katy Perry as musical guest.

This article originally appeared on Ew.com