Paul Schiraldi/HBO; Michael Loccisano/Getty
Melissa Locker
March 06, 2014 04:00 PM

You’ve heard Watch the Throne, the 2011 collaboration between Kanye West and Jay Z. Now get ready for Catch the Throne, a new hip-hop and reggaeton mixtape HBO is releasing to promote Game Of Thronesfourth season premiere on April 6.

For the project, HBO tapped 10 artists, including hip-hop royalty such as Big Boi, Common and Wale, and some up-and-comers like Bodega Bamz and Daddy Yankee, to contribute Game of Thrones-inspired tracks.

The songs reflect the fantasy series’ themes, including sword fights, power struggles and dragons, and frequently feature the artists spitting their rhymes over samples from the show.

Wale’s contribution, for example, is a track called “King Slayer,” which “brings that Khaleesi heat” from the moment it opens. Sample lyric: “F––– the Lannisters and everybody ride with ’em/ Jon Snow and the Night’s Watch, finna slice some iron in ’em.” This somehow makes us even more excited for the show’s return.

The full mixtape comes out on Friday and will be available for download on March 11 via SoundCloud.

Check out Big Boi’s “Mother of Dragons. Note: The track contains explicit, not-safe-for-work lyrics.

[soundcloud url="" params="visual=true&auto_play=false&hide_related=false" width="100%" height="450" iframe="true" /]

Here’s the Catch the Throne track list:

1. Big Boi – “Mother of Dragons”

2. Magazeen – “Iron Throne”

3. Bodega Bamz – “Win or Die”

4. Kilo Kish – “Magical Reality”

5. Daddy Yankee – “Born to Rule”

6. Dominik Omega – “Arya’s Prayer”

7. Snow – “Fire”

8. Dee Goodz – “The Parallel”

9. Common – “Interlude/The Ladder”

10. Wale – “King Slayer”

RELATED: Brilliant Fan-Made Game of Thrones Trailer Is the Latest Season 4 Sneak Peek

Like us on Facebook for more stories like this!

You May Like