People

Stay Connected

Subscribe

Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content

Politics

Anne Hathaway, Taylor Swift, Sofia Vergara and More Celebrities Head to the Polls on Election Day

Posted on

 

Election Day is finally here, and just like the rest of America, celebrities are heading to the polls to cast their votes for either Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump.

Anne Hathaway, Taylor SwiftCameron Diaz, Justin Theroux, Neil Patrick Harris, Mariska Hargitay, Kelly Ripa and more led the pack of A-list stars who hit the polls to do their civic duty on Tuesday — and they documented it on social media.

While being a star often means jet-setting around the globe, that didn’t stop Theroux, 45, from taking part in this year’s election. The actor sent in his vote all the way from Berlin, Germany.

“Vote=rocked,” he captioned a shot of himself holding up his absentee ballot.

Karlie Kloss also did her part while on the job, filling out her ballot in a dressing room.

“One of the greatest privileges we have as Americans is a voice,” she wrote. “I’m proud to say I did my part, now it’s your turn.”

Others made their way to local voting booths. And with many voting locations opening as early as 6 a.m., they wasted no time getting in line to cast their votes.

Swift snapped a photo of herself in line.

“Today is the day,” she wrote as she pointed to the “voters entrance” sign, though she didn’t reveal her choice. (And voters really, really want to know — she’s the top search result on Google Trends.)

Today is the day. Go out and VOTE 🇺🇸

A post shared by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) on

Harris, Hathaway, Miley Cyrus, Anna KendrickCandace Cameron Bure and more snapped photos of themselves wearing the signature “I Voted” sticker.

” ‘Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.’ – Martin Luther King Jr.” wrote Harris, while pointing to his sticker.

"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter. – Martin Luther King Jr." #VOTE

A post shared by Neil Patrick Harris (@nph) on

Hathaway even offered to help people find voting polls nearby. “Check the link in my bio to find out where to vote,” she wrote.

A lot of other celebs followed suit, showing off their own participation and encouraging others to exercise their civic duty.

Voted and it feels so right #imwithher

A post shared by Amanda Seyfried (@mingey) on

I voted today for @hillaryclinton ❤️💙❤️💙 I am so proud of all of you who did the same! #imwithher

A post shared by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) on

🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸

A post shared by Anna Kendrick (@annakendrick47) on

#VOTE

A post shared by J O E J O N A S (@joejonas) on

✔️🇺🇸 @jrodgers11

A post shared by JoJo Fletcher (@joelle_fletcher) on

I voted ✨🇺🇸✨

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

Right off the plane from Hawaii to go vote. #electionday

A post shared by Nick Jonas (@nickjonas) on

#Vote 💋💋💋

A post shared by taraji p henson (@tarajiphenson) on

I do what I do…

A post shared by Donald Faison (@donald_aison) on

I voted! Did you? 🇺🇸

A post shared by Jesse Tyler Ferguson (@jessetyler) on

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on

We voted!! And #werewithher🇺🇸

A post shared by Skylar Astin (@skylarastin) on

#Vote I DID! DID YOU??? #imstillwithher

A post shared by Sarah Hyland (@therealsarahhyland) on

#VOTE

A post shared by Mariska Hargitay (@therealmariskahargitay) on

Have youuuuu??? 🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸 #imwithher

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

We're #withher.

A post shared by Vogue (@voguemagazine) on

Go VOTE!!

A post shared by Candace Cameron Bure (@candacecbure) on

Ripa’s voting day was extra special, as she not only lent her vote to the candidate of her choice, but she also watched her son Michael Joseph Consuelos vote for the very first time.

Nothing like the feeling of witnessing your child vote for the first time. Nothing. MAKE IT COUNT! 🇺🇸

A post shared by Kelly Ripa (@kellyripa) on

“Nothing like the feeling of witnessing your child vote for the first time. Nothing. MAKE IT COUNT!,” she captioned a selfie with her son.

Olivia Wilde also took one of her kids with her to vote, strapping baby Daisy to her chest. The actress took a selfie with her husband Jason Sudeikis sporting their stickers.

Baby girl's first election. It's a cool time to be alive. #tearsofjoy

A post shared by Olivia Wilde (@oliviawilde) on

“Baby girl’s first election. It’s a cool time to be alive,” she wrote, adding #tearsofjoy.

Let's get this done. #StayInLine #GetOutTheVote #ImWithHer @hillaryclinton

A post shared by Julia Louis-Dreyfus (@officialjld) on

In a video, Veep star Julia Louis-Dreyfus shared, “This nasty woman just voted today, before going to work. And I voted for Hillary Clinton. I’m hoping that you will vote today and you will stay in line, no matter how long it is. It was a long line for me this morning. And when you vote, vote for Hillary.”

Louis-Dreyfus donned a “Nasty Woman” shirt in the Instagram clip.

Sofia Vergara and hunky hubby Joe Manganiello also showed off their post-vote swag, with the Modern Family actress writing on social media, “We did it!!!”

We did it!!!😍 @joemanganiello #vote

A post shared by Sofia Vergara (@sofiavergara) on