People

Subscribe

Stay Connected

Subscribe

Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content

See All The Stars’ Mother’s Day Moments, Including Some Winning Throwbacks

Posted on

Gisele Bundchen/Instagram

From making flower arrangements, to simply squeezing their family members and sending sweet messages, Sunday was all about Mother’s Day for many celebrities.

Stars took to social media to share photos of their children, mothers and grandmothers to honor the holiday, from throwbacks — including a bathtub photo — to day-of snaps.

Jason Derulo celebrated by looking back at a Jamaican birthday celebration he threw for his mom. Hoda Kotb kept it cozy, snuggling with daughter Haley Joy in pajamas.

And Kris Jenner came up with two throwback photo grids, wishing her mother, MJ, a happy mother’s day, including a throwback photo where Jenner’s hair is unrecognizable.

Additionally, the Property Brothers, JoJo Fletcher, Nikki Bella and more recently stopped by the PEOPLE Now studios and had the chance to make their affections for their moms public — making the rest of us look bad (we kid!).

See more well wishes the stars shared for the holiday — Gwyneth Paltrow’s daughter nailed her gift!

Drew Barrymore took time out of her Mother’s Day to give a shout-out to her ex Will Kopelman, with whom she continues to co-parent their children.

“Father is awesome and we have happy unorthodox union,” she wrote. “And let’s honor the dad’s today too.”

Mother's Day. Father is awesome and we have happy unorthodox union. And let's honor the dad's today too. #HAPPYMOTHERSDAY

A post shared by Drew Barrymore (@drewbarrymore) on

Kate Beckinsale shared her mommy pride, joking on Instagram, “My Fallopian tube is like BITE ME I KILLED THIS,” along with a photo of her daughter, Lily, posing for prom.

Mariah Carey shared a sweet snap with twins Monroe and Moroccan, who just celebrated their sixth birthday, captioning, “Ooh darling cause you’ll always be #dembabies 🎶🎶🎶.”

John Legend wished his prankster wife Chrissy Teigen a Happy Mother’s Day, writing in a post, “Happy Mother’s Day to my wonderful wife. Luna is so fortunate to have a mom that loves her so deeply and brings her so much joy. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️.” In a separate post, he also shouted out Luna’s grandmothers.

Happy Mother's Day to Luna's awesome grandmothers too!!

A post shared by John Legend (@johnlegend) on

FROM PEN: The Today Show Moms Open Up About Dealing With ‘Mom Guilt’: ‘It’s Real’

Gisele Bündchen shared five photos on Instagram, starting off with a cuddly shot with her children, Vivian Lake, 4, and Benjamin Rein, 7, and including a photo embracing husband Tom Brady’s mother, Galynn, who has struggled with health issues.

Jason Derulo shared an exclusive family portrait of his mom’s side of the family. “We celebrated her birthday in Jamaica in style. Mom wanted an All white party!  Birthday-cation!” he told PEOPLE.

Jason Derulo

Gwyneth Paltrow shared an adorable note her daughter, Apple, left her for Mother’s Day, captioning “#mothersday 💛.”

#mothersday 💛

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) on

And she also wished her own famous mom, Blythe Danner, well:

Happy Mother's Day to this amazing beauty and all moms everywhere 💖#blythedanner

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) on

Nevermind that British Mother’s Day was a few months ago on March 11, Elton John still shared a sweet message for his mother, Sheila — the pair were previously estranged since 2008 — captioning, “Dear Mum, Happy Mother’s Day! So happy we are back in touch. Love, Elton xo.”

Dear Mum, Happy Mother's Day! So happy we are back in touch. Love, Elton xo

A post shared by Elton John (@eltonjohn) on

Reese Witherspoon shared a sentimental shot with her look-a-like children, captioning, “Being a mom is one of the biggest joys of my life. I have learned so much from my 3 kids… patience, kindness, humility, creativity and of course, how to tell a great knock-knock joke! 😉 To my wonderful kids, I love you more than you will ever know (You will figure that out as soon as you have your own kids. 😘) Always know how grateful I am everyday I get to be your mom!! 💖✨💖.”

Jessica Alba posted an early Instagram, kissing her “sweet momma,” Cathy Alba. She also flexed her green thumb arranging flower bouquets on Saturday.

Kicked off the #mothersday weekend @oliverpeoples party with my sweet momma @cathyalba

A post shared by Jessica Alba (@jessicaalba) on

Jessica Alba/Snapchat

Kris Jenner wished her mother, MJ, a happy mother’s day, including a throwback photo where Jenner’s hair is unrecognizable. She also shared a grid of photos with her children, calling out her daughters with children, Kim Kardashian and Kourtney Kardashian. “To my angels @kourtneykardash and @kimkardashian, it brings me so much joy to watch you raise my beautiful grandchildren. You are both such incredible mommies and you teach us all daily about patience, selflessness and unconditional love,” Jenner wrote.

Not to be outdone, Kim Kardashian West posted her own series of throwbacks, including this gem:

Kourtney Kardashian also gave thanks for her three kids:

Sophia Bush shared a throwback Polaroid of her mama bathing her, paired with a loving caption that concluded, I love you deep in my eyes and deep in my brain ❣️#MothersDay.”

This weekend has been all about celebrating moms. And at the top of my list today, and every day, is the OG in my world. • Mom. You are a light. A teacher. A friend. A role model. You drive me crazy and I absolutely cannot stand being away from you. I miss you all the time while I'm gone. Your texts about hummingbirds and the weather and what the backyard looks like at sunrise (always with photos to match) make my day. You make me laugh hysterically. And getting accidentally drunk with you on holidays is my absolute favorite. Your heart is bigger than the night sky. Your ferocity is LIT. • Thank you for being the coolest. For teaching me to trust my intuition — even if I refused to listen to you for years because that's what daughters do. I get it. You've always been right. That's equally so frustrating and the most amazing thing ever. You're my hero. • I love you deep in my eyes and deep in my brain ❣️#MothersDay

A post shared by Sophia Bush (@sophiabush) on

Hoda Kotb shared a snap of her first Mother’s Day — which she says she’s spending in pajamas! — cuddling adopted daughter Haley Joy.

Happy Mother's Day! May u spend yours in your jammies like My mom and my little girl. ❤️❤️

A post shared by Hoda Kotb (@hodakotb) on

RELATED VIDEO: Hoda Kotb Posts Photo of Daughter Haley Joy Meeting Kathie Lee Gifford

Model matriarch Yolanda Hadid got a sweet shoutout from her daughter, Bella Hadid, who shared three photos on Instagram.

“Our angel🦋🦋🦋Thank you for showing me what selfless love, generosity, compassion, kindness, power and strength is. Thank you for bringing my perfect brother and sister into this world,” part of Hadid’s caption said.

Some other stars who wished their moms (and kids) well:
Lauren Conrad

Happy Mother's Day to my hot Mama!

A post shared by Lauren Conrad (@laurenconrad) on

Katie Holmes

#happymothersday 💕💕💕💕💕💕

A post shared by Katie Holmes (@katieholmes212) on

Gwen Stefani

I love u mom ❤️ gx

A post shared by Gwen Stefani (@gwenstefani) on

Hilary Duff

Caitlyn Jenner (her mom was also celebrating her 91st birthday!)

Big day for my mom today. Mother's Day and her 91st birthday!

A post shared by Caitlyn Jenner (@caitlynjenner) on

Ryan Seacrest

Every day is Mother's Day when u have the best mom in the world. Thank u for being my number one cheerleader

A post shared by Ryan Seacrest (@ryanseacrest) on

Chris Hemsworth

Love u mum

A post shared by Chris Hemsworth (@chrishemsworth) on

Kevin Hart, who also used the day to announce his wife is pregnant

Karlie Kloss

Busy Philipps

Lucy Hale

Ashley Tisdale

Gabrielle Union

Nina Dobrev

Neil Patrick Harris

Tori Spelling

Former First Lady Michelle Obama and current First Lady Melania Trump also shared their own Mother’s Day wishes on Twitter.