Jason Merritt/Getty
Alison Schwartz
June 06, 2012 10:25 PM

The third time was the charm for Lady Antebellum and Miranda Lambert.

The Nashville-based Lady Antebellum – Hillary Scott, Charles Kelley and Dave Haywood – accepted honors for group video of the year at Wednesday’s CMT Music Awards – an award they took home in 2010 and 2011.

“Thank you, CMT, for really connecting the dot with these videos,” Haywood told the audience gathered at the Bridgestone Arena after the win for their song “We Owned the Night.” “Thank you for playing these things.”

Also winning big: Miranda Lambert got her third female video of the year award in a row, this time for “Over You.”

Luke Bryan was the man of the hour when he was awarded male video of the year for his hit “I Don’t Want This Night to End.” He celebrated by pulling a pair of underwear from his pants and hurling it into the crowd, where women fought over it.

PHOTOS: They Said What at the CMTs?!

Carrie Underwood’s Glittery Wins

A sparkly dress-rocking Carrie Underwood got the first honor of the night in the collaborative video of the year category with Brad Paisley for their sultry duet “Remind Me.”

Then she capped the evening by winning video of the year for “Good Girl.”

Underwood wasn’t the only American Idol alum winning big at the CMT Music Awards.

Season 10 winner Scotty McCreery beat out former fellow competitor Lauren Alaina in the breakthrough video of the year category for his song “The Trouble with Girls.”

Later, a cowboy hat-happy Jason Aldean nabbed honors for performance of the year with his song “Tattoos on This Town.”

PHOTOS: CMT Music Awards’ All-Star Arrivals

You May Like