People

Subscribe

Stay Connected

Subscribe

Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content

Archive

Tops of 2013

Posted on

Top 10

Box Office Champs

1. Iron Man 3

$409,013,994

2. Despicable Me 2

$366,973,180

3. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

$306,725,979

4. Man of Steel

$291,045,518

5. Monsters University

$268,449,861

6. Gravity

$250,137,200

7. Fast & Furious 6

$238,679,850

8. Oz the Great and Powerful

$234,911,825

9. Star Trek: Into Darkness

$228,778,661

10. World War Z

$202,359,711

Source: Exhibitor Relations as of 12/5/13

Spotify

Most Streamed Songs

1. “Radioactive”

Imagine Dragons

2. “Thrift Shop feat. Wanz”

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

3. “Can’t Hold Us”

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis feat. Ray Dalton

4. “Get Lucky”

Daft Punk

5. “Blurred Lines”

Robin Thicke

6. “Royals”

Lorde

7. “Ho Hey”

The Lumineers

8. “Mirrors”

Justin Timberlake

9. “Wake Me Up”

Avicii

10. “Sail”

AWOLNATION

Source: Spotify as of 12/3/13

Top 10 Bestsellers

(adult & juvenile fiction)

1. Inferno

(Hardcover) Dan Brown

2. Hard Luck

(Hardcover) Jeff Kinney

3. The House of Hades

(Hardcover) Rick Riordan

4. The Third Wheel

(Hardcover) Jeff Kinney

5. Divergent

(Trade Paperback) Veronica Roth

6. The Great Gatsby

(Trade Paperback) F. Scott Fitzgerald

7. Fifty Shades of Grey

(Trade Paperback) E.L. James

8. And the Mountains Echoed

(Hardcover) Khaled Hosseini

9. The Fault in Our Stars

(Hardcover) John Green

10. Allegiant

(Hardcover) Veronica Roth

Source: Nielsen as of 12/1/13

Most Watched

Prime-Time TV Shows

1. NBC Sunday Night Football

NBC

2. Sunday Night NFL Pre-Kick

NBC

3. The OT

FOX

4. NCIS

CBS

5. Dancing with the Stars

ABC

6. NFL Regular Season

ESPN

7. American Idol (Wednesdays)

FOX

8. The Big Bang Theory

CBS

9. American Idol (Thursdays)

FOX

10. Dancing with the Stars Results

ABC

Source: Nielsen as of 12/8/13

Increase in Twitter Followers

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry) 15 million new followers

2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) 13.8 million new followers

3. Barack Obama (@barackobama) 13.5 million new followers

4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13) 13.4 million new followers

5. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake) 12.4 million new followers

6. Jennifer Lopez (@JLo) 11 million new followers

7. Britney Spears (@britneyspears) 10.4 million new followers

8. Demi Lovato (@ddlovato) 8.1 million new followers

9. Pink (@pink) 7.9 million new followers

10. Harry Styles (@harry_styles) 7.7 million new followers

Source: Twitter as of 11/1/13

#1

YouTube Viral Video

The Fox (What Does the Fox Say?) Ylvis¹

Most Talked-About Facebook Topic

The Pope²

Reblogged Actor on Tumblr

Benedict Cumberbatch

Kindle E-Book Download Inferno

Dan Brown[superscript 4]

News Search on Bing

Royal Baby Born[superscript 5]

Sources: 1. Google 2. Facebook 3. Tumblr 4. Amazon 5. Bing